MON - SAT: 08 am - 17 pm

Call Us



What Countries Are Part of the Paris Climate Agreement

The Paris Climate Agreement is an international treaty signed by 195 countries to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and limit global warming to under 2°C compared to pre-industrial levels. The agreement is a historic milestone in the fight against climate change, with countries pledging to take ambitious steps to reduce carbon emissions and accelerate the transition to a low-carbon economy.

So, what countries are part of the Paris Climate Agreement? As of 2021, all 197 parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) have signed the agreement, including 189 countries and the European Union. These parties represent almost all the world`s nations, accounting for approximately 97.5% of global greenhouse gas emissions.

The Paris Climate Agreement was adopted on December 12, 2015, during the 21st session of the UNFCCC Conference of Parties (COP21) in Paris, France. The agreement aims to limit global warming to well below 2°C above pre-industrial levels and pursue efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5°C. This requires significant reductions in greenhouse gas emissions and a shift towards renewable energy sources.

To achieve these goals, countries have submitted their nationally determined contributions (NDCs), outlining their plans to reduce emissions and adapt to the impacts of climate change. The agreement also establishes a framework for transparency and accountability, with regular reporting on progress towards meeting the targets.

The Paris Climate Agreement has been lauded as a critical step in addressing the urgent issue of climate change. However, it is important to note that the agreement is not legally binding, and there have been concerns about the lack of enforcement mechanisms. Nonetheless, it has created a strong global consensus on the need to tackle climate change and has spurred significant progress on renewable energy and emissions reductions.

In conclusion, the Paris Climate Agreement is a landmark international treaty signed by almost all countries in the world. By committing to ambitious targets to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, countries have taken an important step towards limiting the impacts of climate change and protecting the planet for future generations.


Employment Agreement Template Germany


National Agreement Apwu

Shopping cart
Sign in

No account yet?

Create an Account
Product Categories